So you say you like live music?: A concert review


The Wonder Years, Misser, Hostage Calm, Fireworks 

Perhaps the best thing about the modern punk scene is the sense of unity and friendship amongst the bigger name acts. Pop-punk heavyweights The Wonder Years and Fireworks continue to tour together almost annually and they always bring a few other talented acts along for the ride. This time around, the bands brought Misser and Hostage Calm with them in a tour unofficially referred to as ‘The Soupy Nation Tour” (a play on the nickname for The Wonder Years front man and the simultaneous pop-punk Suppy Nation Tour).

The sonic variety of the bands on the tour was a crowd pleaser, with Misser’s heavier sound playing off the more acoustic, harmonized music from Hostage Calm. Members of both The Wonder Years and Fireworks have grown over the past few years to bring their musicianship up another notch. It’s clear both bands are masters of their craft. With all four bands poised to release highly anticipated new material this year, it’s exciting to see four bands each pushing punk in a unique direction.

DJ Frankie’s Corner: “On the Impossible Past”


“On the Impossible Past” by  The Menzingers
By DJ Frankie C. 

This indie-punk band from Philadelphia put out one of the best records of 2012. “On the Impossible Past” is an introspective look at Americana through the eyes of vocalists Greg Barnett and Tom May. It’s a great record to spin as the weather warms up and the band blends timeless rock with contemporary indie and post-punk flair. If you’re looking to test the waters with The Menzingers, check out “The Obituaries” or “Gates”, both from “On the Impossible Past.”